mmmmmmmm….breakfast!!!

Standard
mmmmmmmm….breakfast!!!

I’m sorry. I really am. I know you popped in here, maybe to find out what I’m about, maybe by an unfortunate accident or coincidence or maybe, in my two posts so far because you already love this blog (probably the most unlikely I concede). You were then, admit it, going to carry on with your lives. And there I go thrusting warm, freshly -home!!! -made, crispy, sugared and cinnamoned doughnuts right in your face.

I know. I know. You are probably now craving doughnuts by the seaside, cinnamon toast, candy floss and all manner of delightful things. I know I am and I’ve already eaten at least half a dozen doughnuts! For a late breakfast. But you are better now that I’ve shared aren’t you? You couldn’t really have gone through your life without the delectable sight of my breakfast could?

Thank you little brother for being a talented cook who always wants to try out new things. Thank you for creating these suculent morsels of doughnut….

Okay, I’m being cruel now so I’ll stop. But seriously, find yourself a doughnut recipe and make it – you won’t regret it! If you want this particular recipe get yourdelf a copy of Really Revolting Recipes which is the Roald Dhal cook book thing. Some other good fun recipes in there as well, although I’m not sure how much I’d like to eat many of them!

Also, just to let you know it wasn’t always hunky dorey when making these I had a bit of a panic at our first attempt. They came out burnt on the outside yet doughy and uncooked in the middle; as I had read this story yesterday you can understand my panicked assumption that they were all going to be like that – but they weren’t so I was very happy – just make sure that the oil is hot but not too hot!

Anyway, I will leave you all with the taste of cinnamon and sugar and crispy, soft doughnuts melting in the mouth and a few pictures of the chaos of it all:

Frying 'em up

The chef and mum & the trusty thermometer - thanks aunty Helen!

Just to tempt you again...

And finally....the destruction!

5 responses »

  1. Hi there,

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I am following you now on bloglovin, I’d appreciate if you follow me too. Kisses and have a great day πŸ™‚

    btw, my daughter loves bubbles, actually bubble is one of the first several words she learned to say πŸ™‚

    • Hey Alexandira – I’ve gone and posted on your blog as well…not sure which one you will see first. But thanks for the bloglovin’ follow and my first ever comment πŸ™‚ I’m following you πŸ˜‰

      And that is so cute that your daughter loves bubbles – I’m so glad its not only me πŸ˜›

  2. Naughty naughty ..you are SO right ..i NEED those donuts right now! I might have to settle for a fitter from the Chinese right now as i am not cooking πŸ˜‰

    • Hiya, Thanks for looking and commenting πŸ˜‰ And fritters sound delicious…I wish there would be some kind of lovely deep fried food which would leave you fitter as well as fuller! I think someone needs to invent it πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

