Cupcakes :)

Standard

Well, I am dog tired right now. I spent the day at Black Country Living History museum with my mum and youngest brother – It was great fun but boy, day trips don’t half take it out of you. And so IĀ  will leave the museum gushing and fantabulous fish and chips to another post. Instead, I will leave you with some cupcakes as eye candy.

I made these darlings last monday? sunday? after I had spent much time perusing cake pops etc. etc. I didn’t have the right ingredients to venture into cake pops so instead I made some Lemon Cupcakes and some Psychadelic Blue Isaac Cupcakes. Yes, I did write Psychadelic Blue Isaac Cupcakes. All will be revealed šŸ˜‰

The Lemon Cupcakes were made from the hummingbird bakery cookbook and turned out very nicely indeed. I had to do a bit of modifying as I didn’t have all the ingredients (used a tablesppon of lemon juice as I didn’t have enought lemon peel and I used self-raising flour instead of plain flour and baking powder – in fact can any one tell me what the real difference is between self-raising and baking powder+plain flour- does it taste different? cook differently?) but I was really pleased. I’d never made a cake with milk in it before so it was leaping out into the beyond šŸ˜›

And then for the Psychadelic Blue Isaac Cupcakes. Well…these were just me fooling around because I wanted to do some more baking. Because theres nothing better than a bit of cupcake baking right? So I decided to add some blue and green food coulouring into the mix. Four different shades to be precise. And then layer them up. Well, thats all very well Hannah you say, thats the blue bit sorted. But what about the Psychadelic and Isaac part? Well, Isaac is my brother. Who goes slightly crazy at E numbers and ice cream. These were the perfect cake to set him off – although, perhaps this is a bit unfair on him – I don’t think my mum even allowed him to have one!!! And as for the psychadelic bit – well (I’m liking that word far to much!), have a look at them and tell me they don’t look psychadelic!

A bit of funky (well trying to be funky) outside photography

A bite mark? Me? No....


See? Clearly psychadelic even when masquerading with sophisticated mickey mouse expresso (it is expresso, right?) mugs.

Bon Apetit!

6 responses »

  1. Visiting from the Lady Bloggers Tea Party! šŸ™‚
    Those cupcakes look absolutely fabolous!! I like the colored ones šŸ˜€ Once I made vanilla cookies with several colors and rolled them like those gigantic lollipops šŸ˜‰ it was fun, but several people didn’t want to try them because of the colors. Ignoramuses šŸ˜‰
    Enjoy your Sunday!

    • Thanks for popping over šŸ™‚ I’m glad you like the look of the cupcakes – those lollipops sound absolutely delish! I’m all for crazy looking food personally but I can see why people might be put off.

  2. Tut! all those E numbers šŸ˜‰ My Son Dan would not even be allowed to LOOK at them! He has ADHD. I do cook lots because of this. Dort also has Diabetes so at least when you make your own, you know what’s in them.
    Your Cupcakes look great ..bet they didn’t last long!

    • It so true that cooking for yourself is good – when you have food allegies and stuff to cater for as well – I take my hat off for my mum for managing to keep on top of it all šŸ™‚

      And you’re right they didn’t last long – longer than expected though!

    • Thanks for having a look šŸ™‚ I always cringe whenever anyone gives Isaac chocolate – you’d think he’d be used to it by now but he always ends up going hyperactive. And I have a very intriguing image involving you, your dd and the ceiling right now šŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

