Angels Unlimited!

Standard

Do you want to know something else that I was doing when I should have been revising? I read my way through 9 of the Angels Unlimited (or the snazzily renamed Agent Angel) series by Annie Dalton, only stopping because I never owned the last three. Yes, I raced through 9 books of a series I first read when I was about, hmmm, ten? Six years on, you would have thought I’d have grown out of it. But no, embarrassingly – or maybe not so embarrassingly, depending on how in touch you are with your inner angel, sorry child – I loved every minute of it. I loved the creation of a vibey, super cool heaven. I loved the missions they get sent on, fromย  saving Shakespeare to playing their way through a japanese computer to game to retrieve the soul of teenage pop star in meltdown. I pretty much loved the characters, especially Reuben a ‘pure’ (born in heaven) angel with little dreds and Michael, archangel turned headmaster, with soulful eyes.

I will admit that sometimes the childish, slightly repetative (well at least when you read 3 books in a row) language did get to me. But, I’m willing to set that aside, especially as Annie Dalton can hardly be considered a bad writer and just enjoy memories of my childhood. I was also surprised at some of the rather good advice to be found. Maybe its a bit wacky and off the wall but the phrase (ad libbed), ‘The universe desperately wants to help but how can it, if you won’t even ask’ really struck a chord. It just makes sense somehow – how can we get help if we don’t even ask (maybe that is the problem of religious free will solved right there!).

Anyway, I enjoyed the books immensely. In fact, I might just go to the library and try and find the last three in the series. After reading this far, I want to know what happens. I definitely recommend them to any little sisters or daughters anyone might have. Or maybe even for the not so littlies like me ๐Ÿ™‚

It is also the Book Blogger Hop today.

I know I don’t do loads of bookish stuff yet but, from my dream house post, I think my love of books is probably quite clear. Anyway the question today is:

“What book-to-movie adaption have you most liked? ย Which have you disliked?”

Good question! I think the To Kill A Mockingbird, black and white (50s?) adaptation is pretty good. I also preferred the Stardust film to the book. I’d watched the film before I read the book and, as I realise that they are actually pretty different stories, I just prefer the plotline of the film and I think it’s an incredibly well made, realistic, believable fantasy film. that is not to say I don’t like the book as well (talking of Neil Gaimon – anyone watch the doctor who episode he did – loved it!). I also loved the lord of the rings adaptation. As for the dislike, I think the Harry Potter series have been generally pretty bad, although that doesn’t stop me going to see them on the release day. hmmm….I can’t really think of anything else – I generally avoid film adaptations of things I know, as it ruins my inner characterisation!

14 responses »

  1. Ummm To Kill A Mocking Bird…I so wish I cold stay awake during a black and white film. I bet I would love it if I could;) And yes I have tried to watch this one!

    Hoping through on the blog hop. Have a great weekend! Here’s ours:)

    • Thanks for popping by ๐Ÿ™‚
      TKMB is a bit slow I admit. But then again, I think it reflects the atmosphere of the book by being like that.

  2. I think Neil was the most popular man on Twitter for the hour after his Dr Who episode! Then Eurovision started and we all forgot about him ๐Ÿ˜‰ I put Stardust as a fave for this week’s blog hop too.

    • I don’t have twitter but I can imagine. I just adored that episode (although it completely confused my little brothers!)

  3. Loveeee To Kill A Mockingbird, book and movie ๐Ÿ™‚ And I think I’m the only person on the planet who has not read any of the Harry Potter books or watched any of the movies- shame on me, lol.

    Hop on over to my blog when you get a chance ๐Ÿ™‚

    Mandy @ Embrace Your Oddities

    • Shocking. That really is terrible. Not having even read the HP books…tut tut tut ๐Ÿ˜€ But I applaud you for your good tast with TKAMB!

  4. Letโ€™s kick off Memorial Day Weekend with some scandal and controversy.

    I absolutely loved every minute of the Lord of the Rings films and felt they hit the mark when they brought Tolkienโ€™s masterpiece to the big screen.
    (ducking as rotten tomatoes are thrown at me as the torches are lit and the pitchforks raised)

    Wait, wait. I can explain! Hop on over to my blog and hear me out โ€“ http://www.howardsherman.net

    Howard A. Sherman, Implementor
    http://www.howardsherman.net

    • I completely agree with you (in actuality *glances around*, I think that the films were in someway better as I found the LotR books could get a little it dull at times)

  5. Wow! I feel totally the opposite about both Stardust and the HP movies. I LOVED Stardust the book, couldn’t stand the movie. And I think the HP movies have been well done, all considered, although I still do prefer the books.

    Glad to have you via the Hop!

    • Well, differences is what makes the world interesting ๐Ÿ™‚ I might slightly agree with you about the HP movies, on the ground that with the material they had (as in the length and the complexity of a 7 book plot – especially when you don’t know the end when you start off) they have done an okay job. But not fantastic. Maybe I’m too picky!

    • I loved To Kill A Mockingbird – I read it for GCSE english and thankfully the lfe wasn’t sucked out of it ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I also love reading – I blew through the Little House on the Prairie books a second time (or fifth) the summer before I started college. I hadn’t read them since I was a kid and I was surprised how good they still were. Then I moved on and re-read Anne of Green Gables. Loved them again too.

    I liked the TV show Little House, but the Anne of Green Gables series didn’t hit the mark for me.

    Stopping by from Lady Bloggers. ๐Ÿ™‚ Nice blog!!

    • Oh gosh…I LOVE the little house on the prairie books. I’ve only ever been able to get hold of the first three though and I’d love to read the rest. there is something so peaceful about them. I hadn’t realised there had been a series based around them. And Anne of Green gables is also good – I re read the what katy did series quite a lot as well!

Leave a Reply

